Remembering the King of Pop

You may already know that I’m a big Elvis Presley fan and a music lover. But I’m gonna reveal a little secret. ;-] Michael Jackson was my first approach to music.

In 1987, Michael was already consideretad as a mega icon of pop culture. His record Bad of that year became the very first my in entire collection of personal music. I was fascinated by Michael’s dancing, dressing style and fantastic videos. He was more than a super heroe for me (just like in his Moonwalker movie of 1988).

Michael came to México in 1993 and it was my dream came true. The very first concert I would watch… But mom didn’t take me there . My heart got broken at 8 years old. That episode still hurts today: not going to any of those five concerts, marked my life. I’ve seen a few real nice shows –James Brown, for example–, but Michael’s concert is a hole, a ghost in my memory. The Dangerous Tour that I never saw.

I kept the hope of seing MJ one day. In my fantasies I was a journalist reporting about Michael’s concert. But that last hope got also broken past june 25th of 2009. The news of his decease filled my PC more than any other information…

I knew it then: Michael was not the super heroe I once conceived like, but a person of flesh and bones bitten by a heart failure. A human being that died to bring up a leyend.

This blog entry is a tribute to my first idol. His fancy clothing and that famous glove will live forever in people minds. The music he made left behind all bad comments and rumors about him. The power of Michael’s presence will remain in music history forever.

You’re finally free Michael…

Long live to The King of Pop

You’re image of 1993 will live forever in me

I love you.

8 Responses to “Remembering the King of Pop”

  1. Chantal Says:

    Hello sweet Wendy,

    Hope you are doing oké dear.
    I’m sorry that your last dream is gone. I also grew up with Michael his music and his amazing video’s. Just like Elvis he will live forever in our hearts.

    Much love and hugs,
    XOXOXO
    Chantal

  2. JeanMs Says:

    Michael’s legacy is a blessing to all music lovers. R.I.P

  3. Wilder Says:

    I got touched by your little article, girl. You seem like a real fan. xoxoxoxoxo

  4. Malc07 Says:

    Hi wendy.You missed an Awesome Tribute show last night.
    Everybody says it was the BEST show I have done..
    have a great week Love ya Malc xoxoxo

  5. Chris Says:

    I miss you…

  6. elvislady Says:

    hi wendy… thanks for posting this fantastic tribute to the one and only micheal jackson… may he rest in peace! xx

  7. myantiquemusicbox Says:

    Thank you all for your comments. *A tight hug*


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

